Boston’s Gibson House Museum is a historic place. Located in the Back Bay area of the city, the Museum preserves the legacy of the building that was occupied by three generations of the Gibson family and that was originally constructed in 1860.
The house (located at 137 Beacon St., Boston MA) was originally purchased by Catherine Hammon Gibson for $3696 in 1859 so that she could move away from the Beacon Hill area. Gibson then hired Edward Clarke Cabot to redesign the building and after finishing it with a red brick and brownstone exterior in 1860, Gibson passed the property along to her son Charles Hammond Gibson.
Charles married Rosamond Warren in 1871 and Rosamond’s interior designing skills came to the forefront in 1888 when she redecorated the house with Japanese wallpapers.
After Charles passed the property onto his son (Charles Jr.) who died in 1954, the house became a public museum in 1957 and was declared a National Historic Landmark 2001 as a result of it being the only Victorian era house in Boston’s Back Bay area that has managed to retain its original exterior architecture and its interior design.
The Museum is now open for year round, with only guided tours available. General admission is $9, and it is $6 for students and seniors.
More information is available at TheGibsonHouse.org